So I’ve started up another blog. From scratch. Woohoo. It’s probably something like my fifth one; let’s see how long it lasts.

Basically, the idea of “Waiting for Spring” has been floating around in my head for a few weeks now. As the summer holidays start rolling around yet again, I’ve been seeing an increasing number of friends posting on Facebook about “reading challenges” that they are undertaking. What that is, essentially, is a way to both keep occupied and read a lot by setting short-term, achievable goals. Goals like “let’s see if I can read 100 books in four years” (okay, perhaps they aren’t all short-term).

Naturally, my desire to get back into heavy reading (I used to get through an incredible number of books, but as usually happens, reading for fun ceased when I started my undergraduate degree) has kicked in, as well as my desire to jump on a bandwagon and create one for myself.

I didn’t really want to just outright copy anyone else’s “reading challenge” though, so I figured I would come up with one myself. I thought about it for a few days; then it hit me.

For a few years now, like most of the western world, I have been eagerly following George R. R. Martin’s epic, “A Song of Ice and Fire” and, naturally therefore, eagerly awaiting the final two installments. I therefore decided that I was going to see if I could get through 100 books before “A Dream of Spring” (Book 7/7; also where the title of this blog comes from) was released. There was just one problem: I had absolutely no idea when that would be (no one really does, not even the author himself; and that’s cool, he can take his time with it).

So, for the hell of it, I just decided I would just see how many books I can get through before “The Winds of Winter” (Book 6/7) is released (hopefully before 2018, come on GRRM you can do it!) If I make it to 100, great. If not, well, who cares. Like I said, this is something like my fifth or sixth blog by now, so I have no idea how long it will keep me entertained for anyway. If other people find my musings and ramblings about my progress with this mildly amusing, then great. If I inspire other people to read some things they would not have read otherwise, even better. If no one cares, eh, neither do I, but I’ll try and update this every few days as possible.

Oh and one more thing, one “reading challenge” in particular that I saw quite inspired me in that the person doing it was attempting to read works from as many other countries/regions outside of the Anglosphere as possible. I’d like to try and do the same, but we’ll see how it goes; I’m not really planning ahead what I am reading but I will try to keep a list. I’m also going to try and fit in as much non-fiction as I can too, because why the hell not.

– Simon James Chisholm

Leave a Reply

